When I hear the word RELEASE, I think about the  Serenity Prayer – written by the American theologian Reinhold Niebuhr. The common version is; “God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things I can, and wisdom to know the difference.”  To release it is much easier said than done of course.

The word release has so many meanings. I would like to cover four meanings and how we can benefit from them. For a long time, I held on to my beliefs and the things that did not serve me well. In the process, I robbed myself from wonderful opportunities. I benefited richly from this beautiful lesson – release beliefs, people and things in exchange for new and/or different opportunities.

Set yourself free and allow yourself to escape confinements. We tend to box ourselves in with limited views and perspectives which keeps us from venturing into unknown territory. I have surrounded myself with a dream team to help me achieve my goals. I have a business coach, a graphic designer, a personal assistant, a bookkeeper and honest friends. I listen to them. And, listening means you don’t just hear what they say; you actually do what they recommend. If you are not planning to listen to good advice, don’t ask for people’s opinions. Allow something or somebody to move, act, or flow freely. It is difficult if you want a specific outcome but sometimes we just need to let things go.

Years ago, I had to forgive somebody and set her free from my grudges. I wrote her name on a balloon and listed what she had done. Then I inflated the balloon and let it go into the wind. The wind carried it away and I was able to let all the disappointment and hurt go with the balloon. It was a simple action, but it did help me in that I allowed those grudges to flow freely away from my heart and mind. 

Release it

It is not always easy to follow the process of releasing or being released. There is a form of a death process involved. This reminds me of the five stages of grief that were first proposed by Elisabeth Kübler-Ross in her 1969 book On Death and Dying.  The 5 stages of grief and loss are:

1. Denial and isolation

2. Anger

3. Bargaining

4. Depression

5. Acceptance

People who are grieving do not necessarily go through the stages in the same order or experience all of them. When releasing something or somebody, you may go through these stages. Be mindful and allow yourself to reach that place of acceptance in your own time. It will not happen by itself. You will need to process it in your own heart, mind and spirit.

Sometimes you need to take the action in public and release a statement about it. Sometimes you need to lay legal charges against someone. Don’t fear to take action and to get help. Many people suffer in silence. The guilty person does not suffer – they will only suffer when you release the knowledge to the correct people who can help you. Don’t keep quiet. And, if you don’t know who to reach out to, consider a Valueneurs Mentor Coach.

Let go and trust that things will work out the way they are supposed to, without trying to control the outcome. If you struggle to do it, a Valueneurs Mentor Coach will be able to soundboard this process with you, until you master the skill to release the things that are standing in your way.

REMEMBER – Accept the things you cannot change, have the courage to change the things that you can and have the wisdom to release the people and things that are robbing you of opportunities.

The Valueneurs Mentors Coaches would love to help you develop your leadership skills to lead with from the power within you.

Connect further with ByMarriet on our Valueneurs platform.

And, follow us on LinkedIn too.